Posted by: fiore | January 24, 2012

Rugby overdose

There’s no way out. As the Six Nations 2012 is approaching there’s no chance I can get out of writing a new post.

I have grown a bit weary of the game lately and I haven’t watched a match neither on tv or live since the 2011 RWC final.

After 20 years of loyal support of the game – on and off  the pitch – I’m probably suffering from a rugby overdose. Nontheless, despite I’ve been trying to avoid any contact, there are some news that have struck me… here is a short list:

  • the Allblacks finally won back the William Webb Ellis cup after 24 years (I wasn’t particulary struck by this, but since I totally neglected them at the time of their winning at least I’m making amend now) ;
  • French captain Thierry Dusautoir won the IRB Player of Year (but I hoped for David Pocock or Will Genia);
  • Jonny Wilkinson (Eng), Chris “Mossy” Paterson (Sco), John Smit and Victor Matfield (Saf), Shane Williams (Wal) and few other legends of our game retired from international rugby (a real tragedy. This is the end of an era!);
  • Martin Johnson stepped down on 16 November 2011 as England coach after a disappointing World Cup campaign and was replaced by Stuart Lancaster, serving on an interim basis through the 2012 Six Nations (who’s Lancaster btw? No, seriously, I’m not being cheeky, I’ve never heard of him before);
  • Italy has a new coach too, Frenchman Jacques Brunel (fingers crossed);
  • France also has a new coach, Philippe Saint-André;
  • Brian O’Driscoll and David Wallace won’t play the upcoming 6 Nations due to injury (I’ve already lost my interest in the tournament!);
  • for the third year in a row Rocky Elsom won’t start the Super Rugby competition as he’s recovering from surgery but is expected to be named captain of the NSW Waratahs (get well soon Rocky!!!!).

The list should be longer but I’m already having a rash on my left forearm so I’d better stop here now.

Some news about the 2012 Six Nations will follow… probably….maybe…

Rugby legends

Leave a Reply

Categories

