Posted by: fiore | December 3, 2010


This year the nomenees for the IRB Player of the Year award were Richie McCaw (again!), Mils Muliaina, Victor Matfield, Imanol Harinordoquy, David Pocock and Kurtley Beale.

And for the second year in a row the award went to Richie McCaw… and for the second year in a row I completely disagree with the panel which comprises some of the biggest names in the game such as Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphael Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustin Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga, Paul Wallace and Eales winning over 500 caps and boasting four Rugby World Cup winners medals between them.

So who am I to say that they are wrong? Nonetheless I still believe that last year the award should have gone to Brian O’Driscoll while this year David Pocock of Australia should have landed it.

I’m beginning to think that the letter “B” in IRB stands for *BLIND*…

So, ladies and gentlemen, here is the winner of the 2010 SCRUM5 Player of the Year Award:


David Pocock, my Player of the Year

P.S. I forgot to say that New Zealand were also named team of the year with Graham Henry unveiled as coach of the year for a record fourth time.

Previous winners of the IRB Player of the Year award:

2009 – Richie McCaw

2008 – Shane Williams

2007 – Bryan Habana

2006 – Richie McCaw

2005 – Dan Carter

2004 – Schalk Burger

2003 – Jonny Wilkinson

2002 – Fabien Galthie

2001 – Keith Wood

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: