Posted by: fiore | December 1, 2010

Autumn internationals and scrum issues

Ok, I perfectly know that I’ve been neglecting this blog, but sometimes you need to take a break even from Rugby!! No, I’m not gone completely bonkers… almost… but not completely. It’s just that after so many years devoted to Rugby in all its shapes, I really felt like it was time to take a step back and reflect.

While I was reflecting others were playing. Actually *everybody* was playing… the Autumn Internationals. And again, I must confess that, unlike the past 15 years, I haven’t been watching all the games.  O_O

I watched a bit of Italy, depressingly losing to Argentina and Australia but cheerfully winning with Fiji; I watched Ireland fight till the end with New Zealand,  I watched Australia and England, and very little more.

But what I noticed in all these games was the incredibly high rate of free kicks conceeded at set scrum for engaging early. Basically this is because the lapse of time between the ref’s call of “pause” and “engage” is extremely long. I’ve been told by a friend, and prop, who’s playing in Scotland and who recently attended to a coaching course up there, that these are the new guidelines from IRB: Crouch (2 seconds) Touch (2 seconds) Pause (4 seconds) Engage.

As forward coach and former prop, IMHO, this is madness. The front-rower are obliged to suffer from the huge drive from their scrum mates; it is like a big 900 kgs  loaded spring ready to jump…

 

 

All Blacks Training

Leave a Reply

Categories

