Posted by: fiore | November 18, 2009

And the Oscar goes to…

The IRB, International Rugby Board, has announced last Monday the shortlist for the IRB Player of the Year 2009.

Unlike the previous years when the candidates were up to 5, this year sees an extended list of seven nominees: 2 for Ireland with Captain Brian O’Driscoll and no.8 Jamie Heaslip, Australia’s Matt Giteau, Tom Croft of England, Francois Steyn and Fourie du Preez from South Africa, and the evergreen Richie McCaw of New Zealand who already won the award in 2006.

The winner will be announced, together with the IRB Coach of the Year and IRB Team of the Year, during the final weekend of November Tests.

And here are my choices:

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Brian Gerald O’Driscoll

Ireland and British & Irish Lions Brian O'Driscoll

Ireland Captain and British & Irish Lions, Brian O'Driscoll


Ian McGeechan, British & Irish Lions Head Coach, South Africa Tour 2009


TEAM OF THE YEAR: 2009 British & Irish Lions


2009 British & Irish Lions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: