Posted by: fiore | September 11, 2009

Impossible is nothing

I don’t really think I can do it… not even my new Adidas shorts can convince me that I want to coach children!

I know they are our future, blah-blah-blah.. and this scares me even more because what I saw last Tuesday at the training session, really puzzles me: an eleven years old child in tears because, from his own voice, “I’m nervous“, or a 8 years

My worst nightmare

My worst nightmare

old, again in tears, because another child didn’t respect the rules of the Sparrow game! What the hell is going on here??

Moreover we don’t have enough coaches to cover all the minirugby teams so, our Director of Rugby is trying to convince me that shifting from team to team is a positive thing! This means that in the first 30 mins of the session I’m working with my co-coach with the U12 (which should be my official team), then the next 45 mins I should relieve the U10 coach, who is also the fitness coach and has to work with the Junior teams. BTW, the U10 is actually composed of 15 or more screaming and whining children from 5 y.o. to 9 y.o!!!

And the icing on the cake is that our DoR wishes that, after some time, all children will recognize the 3 coaches as their own coaches. I told him that this is Utopia and reminded him how Thomas More ended up!

In my experience children need reference marks, and shifting coaches are the opposite of it. If then we add the aggravation that the three coaches do not communicate (no common coaching plan or such), the mix is really high-explosive!

I don’t really know how long I’ll be able to stand this…

Leave a Reply

Categories

