Posted by: fiore | March 21, 2009

Irish eyes are smiling

Congratulations to Ireland, 2009 RBS Six Nations Champions.

Ireland 2009 Six Nations Champions

Ireland 2009 Six Nations Champions

Beating Wales 17-15 in Cardiff, Ireland deservedly won its first Grand Slam since 1948, courtesy of Ronan O’Gara’s late drop goal.

What a great game, played by two great teams, and fought till the breathtaking end.

For Wales:
Pens: S.Jones 4
Drop goal: S.Jones

For Ireland:
Tries: O’Driscoll, Bowe
Cons: O’Gara 2


Ireland Captain Brian O'Driscoll

Wales: 15 Lee Byrne, 14 Mark Jones, 13 Tom Shanklin, 12 Gavin Henson, 11 Shane Williams, 10 Stephen Jones, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Andy Powell, 7 Martyn Williams, 6 Ryan Jones (capt), 5 Alun-Wyn Jones, 4 Ian Gough, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Matthew Rees, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Replacements: 16 Huw Bennett, 17 John Yapp, 18 Luke Charteris, 19 Dafydd Jones, 20 Warren Fury, 21 James Hook, 22 Jamie Roberts.

Ireland: 15 Robert Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O’Driscoll, 12 Gordon D’Arcy, 11 Luke Fitzgerald, 10 Ronan O’Gara, 9 Tomas O’Leary, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 David Wallace, 6 Stephen Ferris, 5 Paul O’Connell, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 John Hayes, 2 Jerry Flannery, 1 Marcus Horan.
Replacements: 16 Rory Best, 17 Tom Court, 18 Mick O’Driscoll, 19 Denis Leamy, 20 Peter Stringer, 21 Paddy Wallace, 22 Geordan Murphy.

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Touch judges: David Pearson (England), Stuart Terheege (England)

Television match official: Romain Poite (France)

Read the Times-on-line article and/or the Rugby-Planet review.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: