Posted by: fiore | September 24, 2008

Who’s the best of the year?

Ladies and Gentlemen, here are the nominees for the 2008 IRB Player of the Year Award:

Ryan Jones, Wales Captain

Ryan Jones, Wales Captain

Shane Williams, Wales

Shane Williams, Wales

Mike Blair, Scotland Skipper

Mike Blair, Scotland Skipper

Dan Carter, New Zealand

Dan Carter, New Zealand fly-half

Sergio Parisse, Italy Captain

Sergio Parisse, Italy Captain


The favourites to the accolade could be Ryan Jones, who led Wales to their second Six Nations title and Grand Slam in four years last season, and is also favourite for Lions captaincy duties in South Africa next summer, and his team mate Shane Williams who broke Gareth Thomas‘ Wales try-scoring record last term, and currently has 43 touchdowns from 58 Test appearances.

Then we have Scrum-half Mike Blair who skippered Scotland to Calcutta Cup glory against England at Murrayfield last March, and Daniel Carter who has already been Player of the Year in 2005, and who guided New Zealand to this year’s Tri-Nations title.

Last but not least, Italy skipper and N°8 Sergio Parisse, has led the Azzurri under the coaching regime of Nick Mallett, establishing himself among the most consistent number eights in international rugby.

The winner of what is viewed as rugby union’s most prestigious individual award will be announced in London on November 23.

“The IRB Player of the Year Award is the ultimate accolade for a player and takes into account performances in all the major internationals played during the year including the Six Nations, Tri Nations and the June-July Tests,” said International Rugby Board Chairman, Bernard Lapasset.

The list of past winners include Jonny Wilkinson, Schalk Burger, Richie McCaw, Fabien Galthié, Dan Carter, Bryan Habana, Keith Wood and Martin Castrogiovanni… oh no, Castro ONLY won the Guinness Premiership Player of the Year Award! 😉


For more infos about the Award you can read the full article at Planet-Rugby.


  1. […] good news are Mike Blair – who, alas, won’t be playing tomorrow – has been shortlisted for the 2008 IRB Player of the Year Award, together with Italy’s Sergio Parisse – first Italian player ever been nominated -, […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: