Posted by: fiore | June 20, 2008

The Aussie Way

Gavin Hastings, RWC 1991 Semifinal, England v ScotlandOf course both my heart and my devotion belong to Italy but…. my rugby “first love” was (and still is) Gavin HastingsScotland. I owe so much to that team.

The likes of Gary Armstrong (my favourite player ever), John Jeffrey – the White Shark, the Hastings brothers, Craig Chalmers, Graham Shiel, and many others, captured my heart and secured it to the game of Rugby for years to come.

From that first game that I watched on tv (1991 RWC semifinal Scotland v England), I have really come a long way. First player, then team manager, ref, journalist, liaison officer and coach, at last.

Coming of age I fell in love with another team and country: Australia. A kind of love which perhaps involves less passion and more brain. I love the Aussie Way, because when it comes to study the game in every single aspect, there’s noone better than Aussies. And what is more important, they are happy to share their discoveries and to be helpful to the diffusion and development of the game.

Just have a look to what the NSW Waratahs, the New South Wales top rugby club, can offer to a dog-cheap coach like me: their coaching pages are clear, neat and very well organised. I must say that these pages have been very helpful to me throughtout the season. The material has been good food for thought and I’ve been using several of the proposed exercises for my boys (with the proper adjustments to my team level).

No other Union or club has offered to share it’s expertise in such a friendly way.

This is one of the 1000 reasons why I love Australia… and besides that, have you ever seen anyone more handsome than Rocky Elsom? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Responses

  1. have you ever seen anyone more handsome than Rocky Elsom? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Sure I have: Chris Paterson! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. (just wanted to add: photos don’t do him justice, Mossy is way, waaaaaaay cuter in person, believe me!)

  3. ok ok… but does he have Rocky’s “physique du role?” ๐Ÿ™‚
    mmhh… don’t think so… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Fiore – you think you know, but you have no idea. You should see his six-pack (OMG!!!) first, then we can get back to this discussion… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. ok ok, this discussion is taking an awkward turn… ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Is it? Oh but why, we’re only talking about abs… ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

