Posted by: fiore | May 19, 2008

End of the road… end of the season.

So, here we are at last at the end of the season.

Yesterday we played our last game of the Championship and what a game! We lost but we marched off the pitch helding our heads high. We lost the final round with our cousins of Cus Milano, 19-15, scoring 3 tries each. Only the conversions deprived us of a last win.

The pitch was absolutely awful, all flooded with mud due to the heavy rains of the past few days. We, as usual, were able to field 15 boys, with no replacements, and 2 newcomers at their first game!

Our shortage of players has been our curse throughout the season, and if we could have had only 20-22 players training every time, we could have done much better.

But everything is done now, and there’s no use at crying over spilt milk. I’m happy with our results and I must confess that I’m also glad that it is finally over. This experience has been very wearing for me, both physically and mentally, and I only long for some rest now.

Anyway, I don’t know if I’m going to repeat it next year… is time going to heal my wounds?

BTW, I forgot to say that we finished second in our pool at only 2 points from Rugby Monza, and we were admitted to the “Coppa del Presidente”, to be played among the best second teams of each pool, and that I’m very proud of these young rugbymen here….

Cus Pavia Rugby U15

Responses

  1. Hi, thanks for the comment on my blog (well, since you’re writing yours in English, I’ll adjust to that. ;))!

    I’m relatively new to rugby, as, although I already knew enough about the game, I only really started following it as a supporter (not of a team, more of Chris Paterson in particular, I must confess…) about a year ago or so.

    I’m glad you bumped into my blog (which is not just about rugby – most of the time I’m also babbling on about opera, too. No, not the web browser, I mean “opera” as in “Figaro qua, figaro là…” – yep, *that* kind of opera. So, mostly opera *and* rugby, too. I’m a weirdo, I know…), so that I could discover yours, too – it’s interesting to read about your adventures as an U15 team coach. I hope you don’t give up coaching, though, this is a way too beautiful game to quit! Keep on the good job!

    Ciao! 🙂

  2. Hey, that ain’t fair, you can’t unveil only half a scoop: we [pluralis maiestatis] want names! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

